1-0

It’s always good to start off the season with a win and I think everyone who made it out to the opener would agree that we won big time.   I went with the sure winner… pork tenderloin.  The loins were on sale and you literally cannot mess them up.  In fact I totally forgot what temperature I was supposed to cook them to and left them on the grill for an extra inning and they still came out bomb:

Pork TenderloinBBQ Pork Tenderloin

  • One Pork Tenderloin (~2lbs)
  • 1-1/2 Tbsp Hawaiian Salt
  • Tbsp Fresh Ground Pepper
  • Tbsp Fennel Seed
  • 2 Cloves of Chopped Garlic
  • Some rosemary if you like
  • 1oz Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Rub tenderloin with garlic, salt, pepper & spices.  Place in a gallon zip-lock bag.  Add olive oil to the bag, seal and place in the fridge over night.  Grill on medium heat till the internal temperature is 160.  (I spaced out and cooked these things till about 180 and nobody said anything and all of it was gone by the end of the night).

Q MVP goes to Jean & Don for the fruit salad.  I don’t even like fruit salad but I like this fruit salad.

Jean's Fruit SaladI’ll try to post the recipe.  I know it involved sorbet which is one of the few sweet things I like.  To me, eating your typical fruit salad is like trying to drink a warm orange soda -  so unrefreshing and you never end up finishing it.  This one was light and tart and most importantly…  sans pineapple (More on that in a later post).

Big mahalo to everyone who made it out and thanks for all the great contributions… wine, sushi, caprese… Shannon and I had a great BobbyQ leftover picnic at Golden Gardens on Saturday.  caprese

I hope I can keep the winning streak going.  I’m thinking of beer can chicken this coming Thursday but I’ve already received some flak about Alzheimer’s.  Maybe I’ll try to invent some aluminum free beer can chicken although if people are seriously worried about aluminum & Alzheimer’s, try looking at your deodorant’s active ingredient.  Peace out bean sprout.

BobbyQ05282009 007

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

